The Aurealis Awards shortlists have been announced

The Aurealis Awards aim to increase the profile of Australian science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres. In 2001 the YA and children’s categories were added.

The Aurealis Awards shortlists have been announced:


The Astrologer's Daughter, Rebecca Lim (Text Publishing)

Afterworld, Lynnette Lounsbury (Allen & Unwin)

The Cracks in the Kingdom, Jaclyn Moriarty (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Clariel, Garth Nix (Allen & Unwin)

The Haunting of Lily Frost, Nova Weetman (UQP)

Afterworlds, Scott Westerfeld (Penguin Books Australia)



In Hades, Goldie Alexander (Celapene Press)

Falling Leaves, Liz Argall (Apex Magazine)

The Fuller and the Bogle, David Cornish (Tales from the Half-Continent, Omnibus Books)

Vanilla, Dirk Flinthart (*Kaleidoscope*, Twelfth Planet Press)

Signature, Faith Mudge (*Kaleidoscope*, Twelfth Planet Press)



Slaves of Socorro: Brotherband #4, John Flanagan (Random House Australia)

Ophelia and the Marvellous Boy, Karen Foxlee (Hot Key Books)

The Last Viking Returns, Norman Jorgensen and James Foley (ILL.) (Fremantle Press)

Withering-by-Sea, Judith Rossell (ABC Books)

Sunker’s Deep: The Hidden #2, Lian Tanner (Allen & Unwin)

Shadow Sister: Dragon Keeper #5, Carole Wilkinson (Black Dog Books)


The full list of shortlisted books, and information about the Awards Ceremony in Canberra can be found at the website

Add comment

Security code



© 2013 The Children's Book Council of South Australia  Privacy Policy  Design by BDTS