Book Week Celebrations are beginning

South Australian talent honoured in this year's 70th Anniversary awards include:

Vikki Wakefield for her novel In Between Days (Honour Book in the Older Readers Category),

Phil Cummings and Shane Devries for their picture book Ride, Ricardo, Ride (Honour Book in the Picture Book Category)

and  Jane Jolly and Sally Heinrich for ther picture book One Step At A Time (Honour Book in the Picture Book Category).

The Book of the Year: Older Readers



Fiona Wood

Macmillan Australia


A Single Stone

Meg McKinlay

Walker Books Australia


Inbetween Days

Vikki Wakefield

Text Publishing

The Book of the Year: Younger Readers



Morris Gleitzman

Viking Books, Penguin Group (Australia)


Sister Heart

Sally Morgan

Fremantle Press



Shadows of the Master

Emily Rodda

Omnibus Books, Scholastic Australia


The Book of the Year: Early Childhood


Mr Huff


Penguin Random House



Danny Parker (Illust: Freya Blackwood)

Little Hare, Hardie Grant Egmont


The Cow Tripped Over The Moon

Tony Wilson (Illust: Laura Wood)

Scholastic Press, Scholastic Australia

The Picture Book of the Year



Armin Greder (Text: Nadia Wheatley)

Windy Hollow Books



Ride, Ricardo, Ride!

Shane Devries (Text: Phil Cummings)

Omnibus Books, Scholastic Australia


One Step at a Time

Sally Heinrich (Text: Jane Jolly)

Midnight Sun Publishing

The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books


Lennie The Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony

Stephanie Owen Reeder

NLA Publishing


Phasmid: Saving the Lord Howe Island Stick Insect

Rohan Cleave (Illust: Coral Tulloch)

CSIRO Publishing



Ancestry: Stories of Multicultural Anzacs

Robyn Siers & Carlie Walker

Department of Veterans Affairs

Crichton Award

The Underwater Fancy Dress Parade

Allison Colpoys (Text: Davina Bell)

Scribe Publications










Add comment

Security code



© 2013 The Children's Book Council of South Australia  Privacy Policy  Design by BDTS